Broncos Take CCHA Title at JLA

The past few days, the Detroit Red Wings have been out of town in California, but that didn't mean Joe Louis Arena sat unoccupied. For two days, the JLA hosted four games to decide the 2012 CCHA champions.

Day one saw the Bowling Green Falcons take on the Michigan Wolverines. Bowling Green finished the regular season in last place but they made a remarkeable run and almost upset Michigan in the semifinals.

The Falcons went up 2-0 on goals by Ryan Carpenter and Marc Rodriguez, but Michigan battled back and made it 2-1 on a goal by Jon Merrill. With just under three minutes left in what would have been a major upset, David Wohlberg scored to tie the game at 2-2.

In double overtime, the hero was Luke Moffatt. Michgan outshot Bowling Green 55-35.

In the other semifinal, Western Michigan took on the 2011 Champion Miami Redhawks, who beat the Broncos in last year's final. In a 6-2 thrashing, the Broncos got goals from Greg Squires (2), Will Kessel (2), J.J. Crew, and Matt Tenyson. Reilly Smith scored both Miami goals.

The Redhawks would go on to beat Bowling Green in the third place game by a score of 4-1.

The finals saw the Broncos jump put to a 3-0 lead, stunning the Wolverines. Ian Slater, Dane Walters and Chase Balisy put the net past Shawn Hunwick before Michigan again battled back with goals from Kevin Clare and Lee Moffie, but they could not solve Frank Slubowski, who stopped 25 shots in the win.

The tournament all stars where Reilly Smith (Miami), Greg Squires (Western Michigan), Luke Moffatt (Michigan), Lee Moffie (Michigan), Dan DeKeyser (Western Michigan) and Frank Slubowski (Western Michigan).

The NCAA Frozen Four tournament will be held in Tampa, Florida, with the first round games at the region's selected arena. All Michigan teams are in different brackets.

Kyle Busch